Sunday, July 28, 2013

Brickyard Grand Prix 2013

Tough course, once again lots of banging going on and  many cars spun the tires out of the turn, around you go!  DP 1st: Ryan Dalziel, Alex Popow, No. 2 Starworks Motorsport BMW/Riley.  GT 1st: Jeff Segal/Max Papis, No. 61 R.Ferri/AIM Motorsport Ferrari 458 Italia finally pulls a win on that Damn Camaro 57 (Goodwin for the Ferri Team).  The little engine that could is pounding wins! GX 1st: Tom Long/Sylvain Tremblay,  No. 70 MAZDASPEED/SpeedSource Mazda6.

Next weekend is Road America and someone is always in the sand trap at Canada Corner!

 The Recap from Grand Am Racing:

A switch to BMW power may be the missing piece in Starworks Motorsport’s bid for the Daytona Prototype championship. Driving the No. 2 Soloson BMW/Riley, Ryan Dalziel took the lead with nine minutes remaining and led the rest of the way, giving both the team and co-driver Alex Popow its second consecutive victory in the Brickyard Grand Prix. Dalziel and Popow also opened a 10-point lead in the DP standings over Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney, who finished third in the No. 99 GAINSCO Auto Insurance Corvette DP.  Scott Pruett finished second, 3.438 seconds back, good enough to give Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates the $100,000 prize for winning the North American Endurance Championship presented by Pruett and Memo Rojas, co-driver of the No. 01 Telcel/TELMEX BMW/Riley were NAEC DP driver champions.

Formula One veteran Rubens Barrichello made his Daytona Prototype debut and led 22 minutes down the stretch in Doran Racing’s No. 77 Ford/Dallara co-driven by Doug Peterson. Barrichello pitted for fuel with nine minutes remaining, going on to finish fifth.

Jeff Segal and Max Papis gave Ferrari its first victory of the year, winning GT in the No. 61 R.Ferri/AIM Motorsport Ferrari 458. Stevenson Motorsport won the GT NAEC title with a second-place finish for John Edwards and Robin Liddell in the No. 57 Camaro (that Damn Camaro).  Sylvain Tremblay and Tom Long took both race and GX honors in the No. 70 MAZDASPEED/SpeedSource Mazda 6 (the little engine that could), while Dr. Jim Norman won the GX driver title with a second-place finish in the No. 38 BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman. 


No comments:

Post a Comment